Finding your purpose.

Do you know what your purpose is or how to find it?

Today, I will go over how to not only find what drives your passions but how to use that momentum to pursue your purpose. The three main lessons I have learned about finding your passion would include taking a new perspective, learning from the past and having bravery.

Start With the Right Perspective. Growing up, I believed finding your passion would be just as easy as finding out what you want to eat for breakfast. it is not. This takes time and experience to discover what makes you want to get out of bed and save the world. I also realized that my perspective is shaped by the individuals that I accept into my personal life. This lead to the decision to surround myself with people who would influence me to become not only the better person I inspire to be but also establish the profession mindset that will allow me to reach my goals. Here is a ted talk that explains how not having a passion is totally acceptable. Terri Trespicio is a branding strategist who helps visionaries, experts, entrepreneurs, and businesses communicate with power and precision across media platforms. She consults with a wide range of experts, everyone from surgeons and social media celebs to startups and brand managers. She makes some interesting points about the work passion and why searching for it could potentially stop you from recognizing your destiny.

Learning from the past through journaling. Recently, I purchased A Journal for Self-Exploration by Meera Lee Patel. The explanation for this journal states that it “is an interactive journal designed to help readers nurture their creativity, mindfulness, and Screen Shot 2017-03-31 at 9.39.35 AM.pngself-motivation. It helps readers navigate the confusion and chaos of daily life with a simple reminder: that by taking the time to know ourselves and what those dreams are, we can appreciate the world around us and achieve our dreams.” I chose this journal so that I might be able to right down lessons I have learned through personal experience and professional tips that will continue to inspire me. I personally need motivation to write about my day and would have no idea what to write without a guided journal like the one to the right. 

Some of the reasons you should journal include:

  • Encourages you to write out your goals.
  • Permanent record of our progress.
  • Think beyond the obvious.
  • Provides accountability.

Here is the link to purchase this Self-Exploration journal or a search engine to find one that best suits you.

Being brave to step outside of your comfort zone. personally, I have a social butterfly characteristic that makes going to networking or socializing events enjoyable. Unfortunately, I have a very difficult time articulating what I want to accomplish in life or what path I hope to move towards when focussing on a career. Recently, I had the opportunity to attend a lecture by john Walsh, an executive at Walt Disney World, shared his secrets to finding a purpose and making the statement into action. Walsh stated that finding your purpose consisted of understanding your values, having individuals with the same goals and being confident in what you want to do. When I say “what you want to do,” I mean understanding how you will affect others through your actions and career.   Overall, do not be afraid to not know what you want but be prepared to find it at any moment.

Please know that it is ok not to know what makes you passionate. It takes time to evaluate what set your heart on fire.

Here is a quote about finding passion and branching out into the world.

Finding ballet gave me passion for the first time in my life. I was always very shy and just wanted to fit in; I never daydreamed about what I wanted to be when I grew up. But dancing gave me a connection to my personality that made me grow.

– Misty Copeland

Leave a Reply

